i worked for wlch during hypothermia season last year and witnessed first hand how those without homes are treated as throwaways in our society. i can’t think of a worthier cause than affordable housing and ensuring housing stability. housing is a material need, not a choice. i know what it feels like to sleep on friend’s couches due to hard times…i can’t imagine raising my child this way. join wlch and onedc (one neighborhood equity) in their fight to eradicate homelessness and provide affordable housing in washington, dc!

...With Housing and Justice For All

by guest blogger Charmaine Walton

I’m actually a very private person. But I can’t keep quiet about this. I grew up in the DC foster care system. I didn’t have an easy childhood, but I was always a good student (I even won the science fair two years). After my high school graduation, I went to medical assistant school and began working. Three months after I had my daughter in 2008, I found out that I had Multiple Sclerosis. My daughter’s father decided he couldn’t deal with the stress, so he opted out of our lives. I went to work and realized that I would get sick in spurts. My relapses would come suddenly and fiercely, sometimes a numb leg or numb arms, sometimes I would go blind, sometimes I wouldn’t be able to move at all. It started to affect my ability to keep a job, and I fell…

View original post 708 more words

Leave a Reply

